Home > About > Our People > Authors > Seamus Heaney
Seamus Heaney
Portrait of Seamus Heaney

Seamus Heaney (1939–2013) wrote some of the most revered poems of his time and published them in twelve collections, from 1966’s Death of a Naturalist to 2010’s Human Chain. He received the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1995. A former Boylston Professor of Rhetoric and Oratory at Harvard University, he lived in Dublin, Ireland, until his death in August 2013. His association with AGNI spanned three decades.

Heaney’s book of prose essays The Government of Tongue: The 1986 T. S. Eliot Memorial Essays was reviewed in AGNI 31/32 by Eamon Grennan.

Order AGNI’s limited-edition broadside of “Saw Music,” first published in AGNI 61 as part of the triptych “Out of This World” and later reprinted in his acclaimed collection District and Circle.

AGNI has published the following work:

from Beowulf: Grendel Attacks Hrothgar’s Hall
AGNI 48 Print Only
Out of This World
AGNI 61 Print Only
Shorts for Simic
AGNI 44 Print Only
Poet’s Chair
AGNI 38 Print Only
Frank Bidart: A Salute
AGNI 36 Print Only
Place and Displacement: Reflections on Some Recent Poetry from Northern Ireland
AGNI 22 Print Only

AGNI has published the following translation:

The Two Mice (transfused from the Scots of Robert Henryson [1420-1505] by Seamus Heaney)
by Aesop
Translated by Seamus Heaney
AGNI 54 Print Only
Back to top