Home > About > The Journal > Archive > AGNI 41




A Story of Many Titles
Near-Death Experiences
The Abbess
The Main Train Station
The Road to Point Reyes


Michael Franco’s Word of Mouth
Peter Balakian and the Poetry of Witness: A Reply
Reading Karahasan
The Risks of Being Suleiman
A Love Letter
Letter from N.
Literature and War
A Belated Reply to N.
Wistful Thinking about the Political Weeklies


The Snow
Translated from the French by Hoyt Rogers
Summer Again
Translated from the French by Hoyt Rogers
An Ordinary Day
Translated from the French by James Laughlin
Nothing At All
Translated from the French by James Laughlin
Forward to Tomorrow without Me
Translated from the French by James Laughlin
from Dead Electron Catalogue: “What moves the unseen, untouched body,” “This much I know—that dusk brings arguments over what is,” “You don’t have to go to Venice or the swamp”
The Life of the Mind
Stepson Elegy
Best in the Business
Being a Constellation
Running in Church
The Salmon House
The Worker
To an Old Sucker Fish
One of the Mineral Elements
Mr. & Mrs. Death
The Poets
Sweet Decision
The Scale of Light
Sworn Deposition
Trio Threaded on Lines from the Parthian Hymns
Paper Country
Calle Visión
Advent in Co. Fermanagh
Crossing the Border
The Denial
The Distance Between
Hey Now
Ghost Continent
Listening to Leonard Cohen


Speaking Franco: An Interview with Michael Franco
Translated by Michael Franco


Howard Frank Mosher’s Northern Borders
Carl Phillips’s In the Blood and Liam Rector’s American Prodigal
Debra Spark’s Coconuts for the Saint
Sophie Cabot Black’s The Misunderstanding of Nature
Ted Berrigan’s Selected Poems
Robert Pinsky’s Inferno
Jane Kenyon’s Constance
Alan Shapiro’s In Praise of the Impure
David St. John’s Study for the World’s Body
  EditorAskold Melnyczuk
  Executive EditorSharon Dunn
  Managing EditorErin Belieu
  Assistant EditorRichard Curtis
  Poetry Reviews EditorJoe Osterhaus
  Poetry Panel ChairWilliam Corbett
  Advisory BoardLeslie Epstein
   Robert Pinsky
   Derek Walcott
  Editorial AssistantsErin Berg
   Valerie Duff
   Margo Grossberg
   Erika Fernandez
   Matthias Regan
   Darby Sanders
   Keith Wagner
  DesignLI•MA Design
  Contributing EditorsThomas Bahr
   Sven Birkerts
   Lucie Brock-Broido
   John J. Clayton 
   William Corbett
   Stuart Dischell 
   Sharon Dunn
   Thomas Sayers Ellis
   Marie Howe
   Diana Der-Hovanessian
   Ha Jin
   Alex Johnson
   Susan Johnson
   Fred Marchant
   Fiona McCrae
   Gail Mazur
   Joe Osterhaus
   Dzvinia Orlowsky
   George Packer
   Solomea Pavlychko
   Liam Rector
   Scott Ruescher
   George Scialabba
   Tom Sleigh
   Sue Standing
   Tree Swenson
   Rosanna Warren
   Oksana Zabuzhko
Back to top