Home > About > Our People > Authors > John J. Clayton
John J. Clayton
Portrait of John J. Clayton

John J. Clayton is the author of Parkinson’s Blues & Other Stories of My Life (Paragon Press, 2019). His collections of fiction include Minyan: Ten Interwoven Stories (Paragon, 2016), Many Seconds into the Future (Texas Tech University Press, 2014), and Radiance: Ten Stories, which won the Ohio State University award in short fiction and was a finalist for the National Jewish Book Award. Its title story, “The Man Who Could See Radiance,” was read at Symphony Space in New York and has been aired on NPR’s Selected Shorts series. His fiction has been reprinted in The O. Henry Prize StoriesThe Best American Short Stories, and The Pushcart Prize. He has published four novels: Mitzvah Man (Texas Tech, 2011), Kuperman’s Fire, The Man I Never Wanted to Be, and What Are Friends For? Clayton has also written about modern fiction, including Saul Bellow: In Defense of Man and Gestures of Healing, a psychological study of modern British and American fiction. He is professor emeritus at University of Massachusetts and lives with his wife, Sharon Dunn, in Western Massachusetts and Cape Cod. www.johnjclayton.com. (updated 11/2019)

His AGNI Online story “Light at the End of the Tunnel” was named one of the Top Ten Online Stories of 2005 by storySouth.

AGNI has published the following work:

History Lessons
AGNI 43 Print Only
I’m Here, You’re There
AGNI 55 Print Only
Online 2015 Aging Class Politics
In Those Days
AGNI 34 Print Only
The Man Who Could See Radiance
AGNI 29 and 30 Print Only
A Deeper Music
AGNI 26 Print Only
Editor’s Note
Two Introductions
AGNI 24 and 25 On Poetry On Fiction Youth
Fantasy for a Friday Afternoon
AGNI 18 Print Only
Back to top