Home > About > Our People > Authors > Stuart Friebert
Stuart Friebert
Portrait of Stuart Friebert

Stuart Friebert has published twelve books of poems, among them Funeral Pie, which co-won the Four Way Book Award. He has two volumes of translations forthcoming: The Stomach of the Soul: Selected Poems of Sylva Fischerova (Calypso Editions) and Puppets in the Wind: Selected Poems of Karl Krolow (Bitter Oleander Pess), and eight volumes of translations previously published, most recently joint translations with Sylva Fischerova of her selected poems, entitled The Swing in the Middle of Chaos (Bloodaxe, 2010). He has published two volumes of selected Karl Krolow poems and recently completed a third. He founded the writing program at Oberlin College and co-founded FIELD and the Oberlin College Press. Recent poems and translations have appeared in Prairie Schooner, Hanging Loose, AGNIPleiades, and elsewhere. (updated 10/2013)

AGNI has published the following work:

Christmas Dinner
AGNI 74 Print Only
Quarter Horse Curse
AGNI 74 Print Only
AGNI 78 Print Only
If the Egg’s Not There
AGNI 9 Print Only

AGNI has published the following translation:

Free Fall
by Karl Krolow
Translated from the Polish by Stuart Friebert
AGNI 76 Print Only
Back to top