Home > About > The Journal > Archive > AGNI 49




Introduction to the Art Feature: Elaine Spatz-Rabinowitz
AGNI in the Music Business
What is Music? What is Poetry?
David Mamet and Poetic Language in Drama
First Love: A Memoir
Shadowboxing: Saved by Shame: Milosz’s Concupiscent Curds
One Person in Three Substances, or Three Substances in One Person?
The Transfiguration of Pinsky


Biographical Fragment
Translated from the Hungarian by Len Roberts and Maria Szende
A Little Song About Negative Capability
Elect Bastard Toadflax
A Little Song About Plastic
It’s Hard to Be the Child
To Reinvent the World
A Morning Letter
If the Earth Quakes
Drafts of “The Ice Storm”
Plaza Street and Flatbush
The Ignominy of Desire
Cleaning the Clock
Love Without End
The Furniture of My Own Neglect
A Version of the Future
Invisible Bride
Oakland 1991


Interview with Philip Levine
Translated by Philip Levine


American Joe
Cover My Body with Mud, Give Me Back My Eyes
The Authentic is a Line
In Memoriam

Poetry by Adrienne Rich, Sándor Csoóri, Philip Levine, Jason Shinder, Judy Page Heitzman, and others; fiction by Pushcart Prize-winner Tony Ardizzone, National Book Award runner-up Rose Moss, Frederick Busch, and Perrin Ireland. Nonfiction by Tom Sleigh; Jason Shinder interview with Philip Levine; Eric Chasalow on “AGNI in the Music Business”; reviews by Eric McHenry, and others. Document section features drafts of Robert Pinsky’s “The Ice-Storm.”

Back to top