Home > About > Our People > Authors > Deborah Digges
Deborah Digges
Portrait of Deborah Digges

Deborah Digges, born on February 6, 1950, published four books of poetry: Trapeze (Knopf, 2005); Rough Music (Random House, 1997), winner of the Kingsley Tufts Prize; Late in the Millennium (Knopf, 1989), and Vesper Sparrows (Atheneum Publishers, 1986), which won the Delmore Schwartz Memorial Prize from New York University. Digges also wrote two memoirs, The Stardust Lounge (Anchor, 2002) and Fugitive Spring (Knopf, 1992), and translated Ballad of the Blood/Balada De La Sangre: The Poems of Maria Elena Cruz (Ecco Press, 1997). She received grants from the John Simon Guggenheim Foundation, the National Endowment for the Arts, and the Ingram Merrill Foundation and taught in the graduate writing divisions of New York, Boston, and Columbia Universities. She lived in Massachusetts, where she was a professor of English at Tufts University. She died on April 10, 2009, an apparent suicide.

Read elegies by Chard deNiord and by Timothy Liu, published at AGNI Online.

AGNI has published the following work:

AGNI 31 and 32 Print Only
Hall of Souls
AGNI 31 and 32 Print Only
Letter to AGNI
AGNI 28 Print Only
Back to top